Tickets The Season The Company The School Support Press Room Contact Us
Memory Book - Program 2: Neoclassical Masters (March 22-24, 2013)

Casting     Playbill

Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1
Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1 is a "plotless" tutu ballet in the classical mode,
but highly experimental in it use of classical technique to comment on
ballet conventions from a contemporary perspective. It is filled with perfectly timed
canons and complex, stage-crossing patterns.

Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1
Choreography: Clark Tippet
Music: Max Bruch; Concerto No. 1 in G minor for violin, Opus 26
Special Musical Guest Artist: Violinist Rachel Lee

Photos by Robert Shomler

Click on images to see larger versions
Amy Marie Briones and Maximo Califano Jeremy Kovitch and Jing Zhang
Junna Ige and Maykel Solas Mirai Noda and Akira Takahashi
The ensemble with the Pink Couple Final bows for Bruch with conductor George Daugherty and violin soloist Rachel Lee
"Bruch Violin Concerto No.1. Where do I start? 24 dancers with 4 killer duets. Yards and yards and yards of multicolored tulle graced the stage. Fantastic violin by musical guest; the gorgeous, talented and amazing Rachel Lee. Leaping, twirling, lifting, flying, back and forth. To sum up the evening, WOW. It was a great night, great time. The whole audience gave a standing O."
Lynne Jones
The Stunning Post

"The whole company shone with precision and musicality [in Clark Tippett's Bruch Violin Concerto No.1] looking proud to be there, as well they might. They conveyed a sense of tremendous unity in ensemble work, and the principal couples displayed warmth and brio."

"A guest artist, the young virtuoso violinist Rachel Lee…accompanied the Ballet San Jose Orchestra conducted by George Daugherty…They sounded marvelous throughout the show."
Janice Berman
San Francisco Classical Voice

The Nutcracker        The Nutcracker : Karen Gabay

Program 1        Don Quixote : After Marius Petipa and
               Alexander Gorsky

Program 2        Les Rendezvous : Sir Frederick Ashton
       Méditation from Thaïs : Sir Frederick Ashton
       Clear : Stanton Welch
       Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1 : Clark Tippet

Program 3        Duets : Merce Cunningham
       Glow-Stop : Jorma Elo
       Eighty One : Jessica Lang