Tickets The Season The Company The School Support Press Room Contact Us
Memory Book - Program 2: Neoclassical Masters (March 22-24, 2013)

Casting     Playbill

Clear is an abstract study of lifeís connections,
the importance of the people in our daily existence,
and the love that brings you home.
The piece is classical in technique but contemporary in style,
with explosive movement fiercely danced by seven men and one woman.

Choreography: Stanton Welch
Music: Johann Sebastian Bach (Concerto for Violin and Oboe in C minor
and the first and second movements from the Violin Concerto in G minor)
Pamela Hakl, Oboist, and Special Musical Guest Artist Violinist Rachel Lee

Photos by Robert Shomler

Click on images to see larger versions
The men of Clear Joshua Seibel
Jeremy Kovitch, Alexsandra Meijer, Akira Takahashi, Ramon Moreno Akira Takahashi, Jeremy Kovitch, Alexsandra Meijer, Ramon Moreno
Damir Emric Joshua Seibel, Akira Takahashi, Kendall Teague, Jing Zhang (front)
Jing Zhang and Akira Takahashi in the final moment.
"Stanton Welch's ClearÖitís a manís work and they clearly rose to the challenge."
Renee Renouf
Wolly Western Eye

"Clear starts as a fierce exposition of male dancing. Itís blocky, showy and competitive with a superstrong Akira Takahashi surrounded by and responded to by six buddies. The piece ended on a haunting note. As bodies around the stageís periphery trembled and crumbled, Takahashi and Jing Zhang engaged each other in a tenderly loving but ever so sad duet."
Rita Felciano
San Jose Mercury News

"With open chests and expansive leaps, [Stanton Welch's Clear] surges powerfully onward in ensembles and solos, taking the breath away. That it doesnít do the same to the dancers speaks volumes about how far the company has come. This really felt like a breakthrough number."
Janice Berman
San Francisco Classical Voice

The Nutcracker        The Nutcracker : Karen Gabay

Program 1        Don Quixote : After Marius Petipa and
               Alexander Gorsky

Program 2        Les Rendezvous : Sir Frederick Ashton
       Méditation from Thaïs : Sir Frederick Ashton
       Clear : Stanton Welch
       Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1 : Clark Tippet

Program 3        Duets : Merce Cunningham
       Glow-Stop : Jorma Elo
       Eighty One : Jessica Lang